Robinhood has become one of the most popular brokers in the US, built on commission-free trading and a simple app. It joined the S&P 500 in September 2025 and now also operates in the UK and the European Union.
In this article, we will examine the statistics that matter most, such as Robinhood’s assets under management (AUM) and user base, as well as revenue and other metrics. By examining these key figures, we will uncover valuable insights into the company’s growth and success, as well as its impact on the investing world.
Whether you are a professional investor or simply curious about Robinhood’s statistics, keep reading to find out more about the most recent numbers.
Overview
Robinhood Markets, Inc. is a well-known fintech firm that provides an online discount brokerage platform offering commission-free trading for stocks, exchange-traded funds (ETFs), options, and cryptocurrencies.
It was launched in 2013 with a focus on commission-free trading and democratising access to financial markets, which has largely driven the company’s rapid growth and influence in the investment industry.
Here are some key corporate facts about Robinhood:
- Founded in: 2013
- Headquarters: Menlo Park, California
- IPO date: July 28, 2021
- Listed exchange: NASDAQ
- Sector: Financials
- Industry: Investment banking and brokerage
- Ticker: HOOD
- Founders: Vladimir Tenev and Baiju Bhatt
- Number of employees: around 2,900 (end of 2025)
- S&P 500 member since: September 22, 2025
- Funded customers: 28.6 million (August 2026)
Robinhood AUM
Robinhood’s assets under management (AUM), which the company now reports as “Total Platform Assets”, reached $384 billion at the end of August 2026, up 26% year-over-year, according to its August 2026 operating data. Until 2024, Robinhood reported “Assets Under Custody”. Total Platform Assets also include the advisory assets of TradePMR (from 2025) and Bitstamp (from June 2025).
Robinhood yearly assets under management
| Robinhood AUM by year | Amount (in million USD) |
| Robinhood AUM 2017 | $4,505.7 million |
| Robinhood AUM 2018 | $8,359.5 million |
| Robinhood AUM 2019 | $14,135.6 million |
| Robinhood AUM 2020 | $62,978.5 million |
| Robinhood AUM 2021 | $98,006.9 million |
| Robinhood AUM 2022 | $62,200 million |
| Robinhood AUM 2023 | $102,600 million |
| Robinhood AUM 2024 | $192,900 million |
| Robinhood AUM 2025 | $324,000 million |
| Robinhood AUM June 2026 | $369,000 million |
| Robinhood AUM August 2026 | $384,000 million |
Robinhood quarterly assets under management
| Quarter | AUM (in billion USD) |
| Q1 2020 | $19 billion |
| Q2 2020 | $33 billion |
| Q3 2020 | $44 billion |
| Q4 2020 | $63 billion |
| Q1 2021 | $81 billion |
| Q2 2021 | $102 billion |
| Q3 2021 | $95 billion |
| Q4 2021 | $98 billion |
| Q1 2022 | $93 billion |
| Q2 2022 | $64 billion |
| Q3 2022 | $65 billion |
| Q4 2022 | $62 billion |
| Q1 2023 | $78 billion |
| Q2 2023 | $89 billion |
| Q3 2023 | $87 billion |
| Q4 2023 | $103 billion |
| Q1 2024 | $130 billion |
| Q2 2024 | $140 billion |
| Q3 2024 | $152 billion |
| Q4 2024 | $193 billion |
| Q1 2025 | $221 billion |
| Q2 2025 | $279 billion |
| Q3 2025 | $333 billion |
| Q4 2025 | $324 billion |
| Q1 2026 | $307 billion |
| Q2 2026 | $369 billion |
Robinhood users
Robinhood’s growth can be seen in two user metrics: funded customers (previously called net cumulative funded accounts) and Monthly Active Users (MAU). Funded customers are the customers with at least one funded account, while MAU counts the unique users who used the app in a given month. Robinhood stopped reporting MAU after the third quarter of 2024 (11.0 million). Since 2025, funded customers also include TradePMR and Bitstamp customers.
Robinhood users: funded customers and monthly active users (MAU)
| Year | Funded customers (millions) | Monthly active users (millions) |
| Robinhood users 2017 | 1.9 | 1.8 |
| Robinhood users 2018 | 3.3 | 3.3 |
| Robinhood users 2019 | 5.1 | 4.3 |
| Robinhood users 2020 | 12.5 | 11.7 |
| Robinhood users 2021 | 22.7 | 17.3 |
| Robinhood users 2022 | 23.0 | 11.4 |
| Robinhood users 2023 | 23.4 | 10.9 |
| Robinhood users Sep 2024 | 24.3 | 11.0 |
| Robinhood users 2024 | 25.2 | Not reported |
| Robinhood users 2025 | 27.0 | Not reported |
| Robinhood users June 2026 | 28.4 | Not reported |
| Robinhood users Aug 2026 | 28.6 | Not reported |
At the end of August 2026, Robinhood had 28.6 million funded customers, up from 27.0 million at the end of 2025. More than 1 million of them are outside the US, and 4.8 million paid for Robinhood Gold at the end of June 2026.
Robinhood revenues
Robinhood generates revenues through transaction-based revenues, net interest revenues, and other revenues.
Transaction-based revenues come mainly from routing customer orders for options and equities to market makers, and from crypto trading.
Net interest revenues come from interest on customer cash, margin loans and securities lending.
Other revenues include Robinhood Gold subscriptions ($5 a month), proxy rebates and account transfer fees.
Robinhood yearly revenues
| Period | Revenues (in million USD) |
| Robinhood Revenues 2019 | $278 million |
| Robinhood Revenues 2020 | $959 million |
| Robinhood Revenues 2021 | $1,815 million |
| Robinhood Revenues 2022 | $1,358 million |
| Robinhood Revenues 2023 | $1,865 million |
| Robinhood Revenues 2024 | $2,951 million |
| Robinhood Revenues 2025 | $4,473 million |
| Robinhood Revenues H1 2026 | $2,375 million |
Below, we will present the quarterly revenue figures for Robinhood.
Robinhood quarterly revenues
| Quarter | Revenues (in million USD) |
| Q1 2020 | $128 million |
| Q2 2020 | $244 million |
| Q3 2020 | $270 million |
| Q4 2020 | $318 million |
| Q1 2021 | $522 million |
| Q2 2021 | $565 million |
| Q3 2021 | $365 million |
| Q4 2021 | $363 million |
| Q1 2022 | $299 million |
| Q2 2022 | $318 million |
| Q3 2022 | $361 million |
| Q4 2022 | $380 million |
| Q1 2023 | $441 million |
| Q2 2023 | $486 million |
| Q3 2023 | $467 million |
| Q4 2023 | $471 million |
| Q1 2024 | $618 million |
| Q2 2024 | $682 million |
| Q3 2024 | $637 million |
| Q4 2024 | $1,014 million |
| Q1 2025 | $927 million |
| Q2 2025 | $989 million |
| Q3 2025 | $1,274 million |
| Q4 2025 | $1,283 million |
| Q1 2026 | $1,067 million |
| Q2 2026 | $1,308 million |
Average revenue per user
The average revenue per user (ARPU) is a key metric for evaluating how efficiently a company generates revenue. Robinhood calculates it by dividing total net revenues for a period by the average number of funded customers, annualised for quarterly figures.
Robinhood average revenue per user
| Period | Average revenue per user (USD) |
| Robinhood ARPU 2020 | $109 |
| Robinhood ARPU 2021 | $103 |
| Robinhood ARPU 2022 | $60 |
| Robinhood ARPU 2023 | $80 |
| Robinhood ARPU 2024 | $122 |
| Robinhood ARPU 2025 | $171 |
| Robinhood ARPU Q1 2024 | $104 |
| Robinhood ARPU Q2 2024 | $113 |
| Robinhood ARPU Q3 2024 | $105 |
| Robinhood ARPU Q4 2024 | $164 |
| Robinhood ARPU Q1 2025 | $145 |
| Robinhood ARPU Q2 2025 | $151 |
| Robinhood ARPU Q3 2025 | $191 |
| Robinhood ARPU Q4 2025 | $191 |
| Robinhood ARPU Q1 2026 | $157 |
| Robinhood ARPU Q2 2026 | $187 |
Robinhood’s ARPU has been volatile. It reached a record $191 in the third and fourth quarters of 2025, fell to $157 in the first quarter of 2026 and rose again to $187 in the second quarter. For the full year 2025, ARPU was $171, up from $122 in 2024.
This metric offers insight into Robinhood’s revenue-generation strategy and growth potential.
ARPU also depends on market conditions: it fell to $60 in the 2022 bear market, when trading activity dropped across the industry.
Robinhood profit
Robinhood lost money in most years until 2023, with a record net loss of $3,686 million in 2021, driven largely by share-based compensation around its IPO. It turned profitable in 2024, with net income of $1,411 million, and earned $1,883 million in 2025. In the first half of 2026, net income was $919 million ($911 million attributable to Robinhood shareholders), including a $129 million one-off gain in the second quarter.
Robinhood yearly profit
| Year | Net income (in million USD) |
| Robinhood Profit 2017 | -$6.1 million |
| Robinhood Profit 2018 | -$57.5 million |
| Robinhood Profit 2019 | -$106.6 million |
| Robinhood Profit 2020 | $7.4 million |
| Robinhood Profit 2021 | -$3,686.4 million |
| Robinhood Profit 2022 | -$1,028 million |
| Robinhood Profit 2023 | -$541 million |
| Robinhood Profit 2024 | $1,411 million |
| Robinhood Profit 2025 | $1,883 million |
| Robinhood Profit H1 2026 | $919 million |
Robinhood net deposit by year
Robinhood monitors the Net Deposits, which serves as a key indicator of customer trust and engagement. This metric reflects the net value of cash deposits and asset transfers from customers, excluding reversals, withdrawals, and other transfers out of the platform. Robinhood considers this metric critical in assessing the growth of its customer base and its financial performance.
Net deposits jumped from $4.3 billion in 2019 to $31.0 billion in 2020, during the retail trading boom, then slowed to $17.1 billion in 2023. They recovered strongly to $50.5 billion in 2024 and a record $68.1 billion in 2025. In the first half of 2026, customers added another $39.4 billion ($17.7 billion in the first quarter and $21.7 billion in the second).
Robinhood yearly net deposits
| Year | Net deposits (in billion USD) |
| Robinhood Net Deposits 2019 | $4.3 billion |
| Robinhood Net Deposits 2020 | $31.0 billion |
| Robinhood Net Deposits 2021 | $27.1 billion |
| Robinhood Net Deposits 2022 | $18.4 billion |
| Robinhood Net Deposits 2023 | $17.1 billion |
| Robinhood Net Deposits 2024 | $50.5 billion |
| Robinhood Net Deposits 2025 | $68.1 billion |
| Robinhood Net Deposits H1 2026 | $39.4 billion |
Robinhood average account size
The average account size is a useful metric for understanding the demographics and behaviour of Robinhood’s customer base. Robinhood does not disclose this figure, so we calculate it by dividing its total platform assets (AUM) by the number of funded customers.
Robinhood yearly average account size
| Year | Average account size (USD) |
| Robinhood Average Account Size 2017 | $2,371 |
| Robinhood Average Account Size 2018 | $2,533 |
| Robinhood Average Account Size 2019 | $2,772 |
| Robinhood Average Account Size 2020 | $5,038 |
| Robinhood Average Account Size 2021 | $4,317 |
| Robinhood Average Account Size 2022 | $2,704 |
| Robinhood Average Account Size 2023 | $4,385 |
| Robinhood Average Account Size 2024 | $7,655 |
| Robinhood Average Account Size 2025 | $12,000 |
| Robinhood Average Account Size June 2026 | $12,993 |
| Robinhood Average Account Size Aug 2026 | $13,427 |
Conclusion
In summary, Robinhood has disrupted the financial services industry with a commission-free platform that has attracted a large and growing user base. Its success can also be attributed to a user-friendly interface that made investing more accessible to a broader range of people.
With $384 billion in platform assets and 28.6 million funded customers in August 2026, Robinhood is still smaller than the largest brokers by AUM, but it has become a major player thanks to record net deposits, its first years of profit and its expansion into the UK and the EU.
Other FAQs
What is Robinhood?
Robinhood is a commission-free investment and trading platform that allows users to buy and sell stocks, exchange-traded funds (ETFs), options, and cryptocurrencies.
Is Robinhood available in my country?
Robinhood’s brokerage is available in the US and the UK (through Robinhood U.K. Ltd, regulated by the FCA), and in the EU it offers crypto and stock tokens through Robinhood Europe UAB, regulated by the Bank of Lithuania. For other countries, see our list of Robinhood alternatives.
Is Robinhood a good platform for investing?
Its commission-free pricing and simple app make it accessible to new investors. However, the platform has had outages and regulatory fines in the past, so do your own research before investing. When investing, your capital is at risk.
What are the fees associated with using Robinhood?
Robinhood is a commission-free platform, but it does charge fees for other services, such as margin interest and its Robinhood Gold subscription ($5 a month in the US). Regulatory fees also apply to some transactions.
How has Robinhood's user base grown over the years?
Robinhood grew from 1.9 million funded customers at the end of 2017 to 28.6 million in August 2026.
Can I buy fractional shares on Robinhood?
Yes, Robinhood allows users to buy fractional shares of stocks and ETFs.





